Salmon candy (or tofu, chicken, duck…)

20150331516

This is a recipe I love, it’s easy to make, very tasty ( a bit of umami there that’s quite attractive to the taste buds) and versatile.

You can adapt the sauce to suit your diet: use it on another fish, on poultry (duck is great and chicken too), or on tofu.

The ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp of red miso
  • 3 tbsp of mapple syrup
  • 1 tsp of sake or rice vinegar
  • salmon filet, white fish, chicken or duck breast, firm miso

    Turn on the oven at 85°C.

    Mix the red miso with the mapple syrup and the sake to get a smooth sauce. Pour over your protein and put in dish.

    Cook in the oven for about 30 to 45 minutes, until cooked through. As it is a very low temperature, the protein still melt in your mouth and that’s why I call it salmon candy.

    I serve it with steamed rice, steamed brocoli that I sauté for a few minutes with soy sauce and a bit of coconut oil in a hot wok. I like to add some sprouts (like sprouted leeks) and peanuts.

20150331522

I really like the flavors and the depth of the taste coming from those simple yet luxurious ingredients. I love some Asian food now and then but I’m not really convince by the (lack of) quality from the take away around my home. Also, I’d like to avoid MSG or too much refined sugar.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment